Spurs players who face the axe as Jose Mourinho names 25-man Premier League squad

Tottenham Hotspur’s Premier League squad for the 2020/21 campaign will be officially submitted today (Tuesday) at 2pm, as reports the

Follow Tottenham Hotspurs on Facebook!

While Jose Mourinho will be well aware of what he has at his disposal following a busy summer of transfer activity, it is his final chance to confirm who will and won’t be part of his plans moving forward at Spurs.

The Portuguese boss will have to name 25 players in his squad for the upcoming campaign, with a maximum of 17 non-homegrown players in that list.

Mourinho’s issue of non-homegrown players won’t be one that will overly concern him, with 10 players in the senior squad qualifying as homegrown.

As things stand, though, Mourinho will have to whittle this list of 29 down by four.

Goalkeepers: Lloris, Hart, Gazzaniga, Whiteman.

Defenders: Doherty, Reguilon, Alderweireld, Sanchez, Rodon, Aurier, Tanganga, Davies, Rose.

Midfielders: Hojbjerg, Winks, Dier, Sissoko, Lo Celso, Dele, Ndombele, Gedson, Clarke.

Forwards: Son, Bale, Kane, Lamela, Bergwijn, Moura, Vinicius.

With Japhet Tanganga and Jack Clarke falling into the ‘under-21’ category, two can already be taken off the list as they won’t need to be registered.

That would leave another two to cut down.

Defender Danny Rose doesn’t appear to have a future at Spurs, so much so that he doesn’t have a squad number on the cub’s website, and looks set to be excluded.

The other man who appears to be on his way out would be Gedson Fernandes, who – along with Rose – was left out of the Europa League squad.

Alfie Whiteman, who does have a squad number on Tottenham’s list, falls just outside the bracket of an under-21 player this season, but could make the cut if it were to be Gedson and Rose who were left out.

Potential Tottenham 25-man squad for 2020/21 Premier League season:
Goalkeepers: Lloris, Hart*, Gazzaniga, Whiteman*.

Defenders: Doherty*, Reguilon, Alderweireld, Sanchez, Rodon*, Aurier, Davies*.

Midfielders: Hojbjerg, Winks*, Dier, Sissoko, Lo Celso, Dele*, Ndombele.

Forwards: Son, Bale*, Kane*, Lamela, Bergwijn, Moura, Vinicius.

*homegrown player